A single DWI conviction in Texas can find you facing any number of consequences, from driver’s license suspension and interlock devices, community service and more.
A first-offense DWI is a Class B misdemeanor in Texas. It carries with it a jail sentence of 3 to 180 days, a fine up to $2,000, and license suspension ranging from 90 days to one year.
If you are convicted of a second subsequent drunk-driving offense, you may face years in jail, thousands of dollars in fines, extended license suspension, and the requirement of using an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
A felony DWI on your record could land you in prison for up to 10 years and incur fines of up to $10,000. You could find your driving privileges revoked for life, along with numerous other life-altering consequences.
If you are driving under the influence of alcohol, and a law enforcement officer finds a child under the age of 15 in the car with you, you will face state jail felony charges. This holds true whether you this is your first-offense DWI or a subsequent offense.
Tarrant County has a special post-conviction program, FAIP, in place for high-risk repeat DWI offenders. Its goal is to move certain repeat offenders outside of the traditional probation process and into a more treatment-oriented rehabilitative program.
The benefits of this program include strong treatment opportunities, supervised probation versus prison, and lower costs associated with the probation period. It can also help you turn your life around, giving you a chance for a better future. To learn if you may be eligible for this program, speak with one of our felony DWI defense attorney.
Call Us Today for a Free, Confidential Consultation
Outright dismissals are rare, but an experienced lawyer can help you determine what is best in your case. Even if you are convicted of a DWI in Tarrant County, it may be possible to have your record non-disclosed even if you plead guilty. Call 817-318-6022 to find out if you are eligible to seal your record.